Word and other programs that authors use

I’m not usually one to jump onto the newest, high-speed computer program bandwagon so keep that in mind when I discuss this topic. In a recent conversation with an author we were discussing word count, writing goals and word processing programs when they mentioned yWriter. I had never heard of this program (not a surprise) and was a little skeptical about what they were saying about it. Call me old school but I go with what I know and I think I know Word pretty good. But, Word can only do so much.

 

There are times when Word is just not enough, especially when you start hitting a 200k+ word count with multiple chapters, plots and characters, its easy to lose track of who did what to whom, what happened to them and when.

 

Curiosity got the better of me and I checked out this allegedly purpose designed program for writers.

Normally, when someone mentions a program like this there’s always some kind of hidden catch or hoops you must jump through to full access. One of the hidden catches is there is a referral program and you have to type in a code to give the other person brownie points or you don’t get full access to all the features of said program unless you pay some exorbitant fee.

Shockingly, that’s not the case here.

You get full access to all the features whether you use a registered or unregistered version.

Given how most authors use a form of Word or Open Office to write their drafts with notes on scraps of paper, napkins and yes, even toilet paper (don’t ask), this program takes all your notes, plot, character perspectives/views, chapters and outlines and lets you see how they mesh together.

Don’t take my word for it, go check it out yourself.

http://www.spacejock.com/yWriter5.html

 

Totally free, no strings attached.

 

(But you may have to send $3 million to the starving pygmies in Central Africa.)

 

(That’s a joke in case you didn’t catch it.)

 

Leave a comment